Sally’s College Essays

Photo on 12-21-13 at 10.17 AM #2

Sally, my “baby” cousin, headed for college next year! (woohoo!!!) She’s been so INSANELY lazy with her college applications that I sat her down one day and forced her to write the ones to OSU (Oklahoma State University). This is what she wrote…

If you could go back in time and alter one historic event, what would it be? Why would you change it, and how would it affect the world we know today? (max. 300 words)

I scream for ice cream. I love ice cream; I especially love the fruit sorbets. If I could go back in time, I’d go and change something very simple. I honestly would not have the guts to be a national hero and change something such as the 9-11 bombing or the attack on Pearl Harbor. Not to generalize or anything, but I believe that most people love ice cream. Even my conservative Asian mother loves ice cream (though she says it is junk food and often protests when my dad and I try to sneak it in the shopping cart). Therefore, if I could go and change one thing, it would be the day ice cream was invented. I’d invent ice cream as soon as I could. I was taught how to make homemade ice cream through my 6th grade science class. And since then, I have made more ice cream. Oftentimes my friends have told me that I come up with the most random ideas ever. But in my opinion, I think my ideas are pretty ingenious! Sure it might be a silly idea but the moral behind it is good. By introducing such a delectable dessert to the world on an even faster pace than what was originally to come, perhaps the world would be a happier place to live in.

Describe an invention you would create to solve an everyday problem you encounter. What is the problem, and how does your invention provide a solution? (max. 300 words)

Everyday when I wake up to go to school, I always struggle to find a pair of matching socks. It is ridiculous the numbers of times I have had to dig through my sock basket searching for socks that match or aren’t riddled with holes. This made me think… What if my socks had an additional button added on there? That way, I can button the socks together so they don’t get lost in the washing machine, dryer, or even on the way to the laundry room. I always end up finding some pair of socks to wear but it is getting to a point where it becomes fairly irritating. So when you really think about it, what keeps clothes together? Either a button or a zipper and since a zipper would not keep the socks together, a button will have to do. It’s a simple solution really. I wonder why I have never thought of this up before.

I died laughing. BUT SERIOUSLY!!! She’s actually REALLY smart, I swear it.

7 thoughts on “Sally’s College Essays

Leave a Reply

